(P)art 2: The Bath

 

IMG_1611

(all plasma & ink & in need of a gentle yet thorough wash)

IMG_1612

(Clean)

The first full day of my first tattoo had me thinking about intimacy and the boundaries between public and private. Walking out of the parlor the night before, I felt as if I had cartoon dots drifting above my head and bursting–as if the excitement and wooziness I was feeling was visible.

After a night’s rest, my strength had returned and I felt ready to confront the realities of aftercare. However, sitting in the bathtub, my own vulnerability began to overwhelm me.

The act of labeling cannot be separated from the tattoo. In this instance, the piece reflects something of a strategic un/covering. Sure, I wanted to make a statement, but here was a hidden dimension. Sitting in the tub and feeling the rush of water envelop me, I recalled Mary Cassatt. It was only by way of further extension, by acknowledging that my discomfort was unnecessary and controlling, that I was able to accept the care being offered. At that moment, the idea for this series crystalized.

~End (P)art 2~

Leave a Reply

