Cultural Exchange 1 (Part 3)

Anyway, she and I were going back and forth while I was taking a break at work. Two hours later I check back in, not expecting anything since it seemed as if our chat had wound down. Instead, one of her friends had been commenting–posting and then posting again as thoughts came to him. He wrote that the show is “self-deprecating” and the piece in particular was a “satirical look” at a “section of Asian culture” and “so much less a slap in the Asian populaces (sic) face”. He then wrote that “Ya’ll should wonder why you were OK with the show poking fun at one culture, then considered it crossing the line when they brought in another”, which he followed up with the comment, “This isn’t me screaming reverse racism because I’m white”, because, of course he did. 

Does this sound as familiar to you as it did to me? More to the point, why does this foolishness seem commonplace? Also, will people ever learn that telling people how they should think of you is a pretty clear indicator to the listener that you are a more unreliable narrator than most on the topic at hand?

I responded cheekily, with the outright assertion that I “have zero interest in getting into it with people I don’t know,” by which I meant “people on the Internet I don’t know irl.” But given my rule of giving everyone I encounter at least one chance, I went on: “You’re right the show is based on self-deprecation. However, there is no apparent ‘self’ in this [meaning the segment]. Rather, it’s one historically advantaged group portraying another group in a mocking and stereotypical way. I also think your assumptions about whether I was okay with anything and what my personal boundaries are are…symptomatic, to say the least. I would go on but there are too many issues to address here.” I punctuated all of this with a smiling emoji blowing a kiss, which I thought was, at worst, a mildly flippant way to say “no hard feelings?”  

Here’s a screenshot of his response, because I do not have it in me to type this up:

  

Leave a Reply

