Unlocking

C says he’s seen me cry more in the past month than I have in the past year. I express genuine puzzlement, because I feel better than I ever have before. 

It’s just that sometimes I have these jabs of loss, like I’m waking up from a dream where everyone I know is still alive. 

He says that it’s probably because things are good that I’m feeling this way now. Now that I no longer have to protect myself, I can feel. He describes my former state as icy, and I must admit that at times I do feel as if I am melting.

Leave a Reply

