What I’ve Learned

I’ve been at the new job for just over a month, and I’ve learned so much.

For example, I’ve learned about the kind ways that commuters look out for each other. A request that the driver open to back door of a bus for one person can travel through multiple mouths until the message is received, and a message from the driver can travel back just as quickly. I learned that a contents of a split backpack can be scooped up and restored to the owner in seconds when three people jump to help. And even though it’s been just over a month, I feel at home where I am and where the bus takes me. This is a byproduct of privilege as surely as the cheap rent in the walk-up in which I reside. 

I’ve also learned how Seattle looks in the morning when the sun is rising, and in the evening when it’s setting. I’ve witness gold-drenched buildings set in hot pink skies and I experience every morning and evening as a true gift. 

These are some of the things I choose to focus on as I move through my day, and I feel rather happy in them.

One thought on “What I’ve Learned

Leave a Reply

