Thoughts on Taking the Bus

I caught an early bus this morning and found out that the earlier bus is one of those double-long buses. I got a seat right on the other side of the bendy part, which was incredibly fun. It was sort of like being on one of those carnival fun house rides. 

It’ll be another month before payroll can start up my monthly bus pass, so over the weekend I went to a nearby grocery store and got a pass for this month. It was extremely convenient and easy, and it’s given me no small amount of pleasure to use my new bus pass. I think it’s safe to say that I’m thoroughly enjoying the public transport portion of my new life. 

Now that I’m not driving myself to work, I find I have more energy to be impulsive. Equally, waiting for the bus has given me the time to really start noticing my surroundings in a way I haven’t in years. All this seems mildly strange, since so many people talk of public transport in exhausted or leery tones. Perhaps one day I’ll be one of those people, but until then I’ll just be  happy with how I feel.

Leave a Reply

