Transportation: My First Week

This afternoon marks the first full week of my new job. I did not think I’d care whether I worked downtown, and I dreaded the change from driving myself to public transportation.

Having quickly fallen in love with the PNW while visiting, I just as quickly fell out of love once we’d moved. I felt that the local inhabitants were snobby and standoffish, and I lived my life north of downtown which made going into town seem like an expensive hassle. I deeply regretted the move for the first several months, and only recently had I begun to grudgingly accept it.

However, working downtown and taking the bus has changed everything. I am constantly reminded of why I wanted to move here in the first place. I have loved watching the autumn colors deepen from the office windows as much as I am heartened by seeing familiar faces each day. By and large the bus drivers have been friendly and helpful, and I look forward to watching downtown move around me every morning and afternoon. My new co-workers are professional and knowledgeable, as well as good humored.

I feel incredibly blessed by my new circumstances, but moreover, that I have had the experiences I have had so that I know how very lucky I am.

Leave a Reply

