Practically Speaking

Today was better than yesterday. Just based off experience, that’s how these things tend to work. The trick is in getting through the days when things seems staunchly intent on getting or staying worse. That’s the really difficult part. 

I’ve found the best way to get through the difficult days is to rely on intuition, and to seek out the people and things that uplift you. Practically speaking, I also like to break the day down into tasks and by hour. Focus on the short-term can sometimes be very fruitful in this respect.

When I think about this type of advice, I think about my 14-year-old self. I very much doubt that she would find value in anything I have to say to her. This line of thinking inevitably leads me to wonder if there’s any good advice to give anyone. Perhaps the only thing of real value we have to give to anyone in a situation of distress is our undivided attention and compassion. 

Anyway, this is what the sky looked like this morning where I am:

Leave a Reply

