Book Review: Bitch Planet Book One: Extraordinary Machine

If I’m being totally honest here I have to admit that for the past year I’ve been trying to stay away from comics. During undergrad I was an avid comics fan–making weekly trips to pick up my pull, spending Saturdays bagging and boarding, and acquiring short boxes at a stress-inducing pace. But unlike my wise comic-loving friends, I was a DC fan. Now do you understand why I, an Asian-American, female, gender studies major with previously entrenched trust issues, decided to pursue other non-comic-related hobbies? When those aforementioned sensible comic-loving friends told me I had to check out Kelly Sue DeConnick & Valentine De Landro’s Bitch Planet, I knew it had to be something special.

Bitch Planet is absolutely everything I love about comics. It is campy, dystopian, and allegorical while remaining fun, sharp, and most important of all, humanizing. DeConnick writes a solid script, which is totally enhanced by the the way the art just fits. I’d try to sum up Bitch Planet here, but why bother when you can read this excellent article on what Bitch Planet is and means to people all over? 

As for me, now that I’ve gotten my hands on this book, I’m planning on buying all the issues again electronically and subscribing to the series.

Buy Bitch Planet here and feel grateful comics exist again.

Leave a Reply

