In Service of Complexity

Today we had the small service, and I cannot recommend it enough for those of you who need a space to express how you feel with those who know you best and whom you most trust. 

Our lives are messy, but in order not to isolate everyone and for simplicity’s sake, memorials must be neat. Besides, no one goes to a memorial unless they intend on honoring the deceased. But I like complexity. It is important in ways I can’t even describe. This intimate service allowed me to express the entirety of my truth with people who were willing to be uncomfortable. I feel that that’s what compassion boils down to–a willingness to be uncomfortable for somebody else.

Now that I am on the other side of this experience I feel much stronger. I feel able to have a memorial for everyone else who wants to pay their respects. I feel good.

Leave a Reply

