Choices

I have never understood masculinity. Still, today, it does not make sense to me. It does not make sense to me, because, men, especially privileged men, are some of the most fragile people I have yet to meet, and I believe this is largely part of the legacy of conventional masculinity. My experiences with men, especially privileged men who feel the victim of some imagined “reverse” discrimination, taught me the danger in fragility. It is only now that I am beginning to comprehend the idea of strength in vulnerability (which is not at all the same as fragility).

Entitlement can play strange tricks on a person. It can make a person dissatisfied. It can make a person dangerous, because, how do you prove yourself when there is nothing to prove?

It baffles me when entitled, privileged people I know get upset because I am not behaving how they want me to. It angers me when it becomes apparent that there is some thing these people want from me, but their privilege/entitlement keeps them from articulating it. Privilege and entitlement can strip a person of the words, the gestures, the tools that are needed to authentically connect to other people.

There is no shame in asking for what you want, so long as you understand that you might not get what you want.

Compromise.

Because, life is a choice. To live is a choice. That is why we must remember to choose life through choosing goodness, happiness, and love. There is a great expanse of space in life, goodness, happiness and love—there is so much space there that these things don’t always take an ideologically conventional form, but this, too, is life, through spontaneity.

 

The walls that are constructed and reinforced with conventionality are terribly damaging because we blindly rely on them and are afraid to move outside (or even within) them. Ultimately, they are a tomb.

To live is a choice. Choose life.

Leave a Reply

